A Small Suggestion For Convenience

pepanee

New member
Hi, this is just a small suggestion to maybe implement into VideoReDo version 6, as long as you, the developers, like it.

• So, I'm assuming this option doesn't exist in the program's preferences. If it does exist, can someone please tell me how to enable it?
• This suggestion doesn't have to be a requirement to change the whole structure of the program; in other words, maybe you can have an option in the program's preferences, with a checkbox to enable/disable this option.

So here's what the idea is: Sometimes I load a video in VideoReDo and press the "Mark the beginning" button and the "Mark the end" of a video file to trim and keep. Suppose that only those two buttons have been pressed, and then I press the Save Video button, that implies that this is the part of the video that I want to keep. So instead of pressing the "Add Selection" button, then pressing the "Save Video" button, I could just press the "Save Video" button instead. When the program notices that I set one beginning marker and one ending marker, then I pressed the "Save Video" button, then the program will auto assume that this is the selection that I want to save, instead of giving me the "No scenes have been defined" error.

1) Suppose that someone marks the beginning and ending marks to a part of the video that they don't want, then the next thing that comes to their mind would be to press the "Add Unselected" button.
2) Suppose that someone wants to add this selection, then add another selection, then they would know from the beginning that once they set the beginning and ending markers of the first scene, the next thing that comes to mind is to press the button that will keep that first scene, and then they can mark the beginning and ending for the next scene, and add that scene, and so on.

So from the top of my head, using this quick analysis, I see no conflicts with this idea.

And like I said earlier, assuming that some conflict shows up later in the future, then one can simply go to VideoReDo's options and disable this "idea" by unchecking a checkbox somewhere within the options menu.


What do you guys think?

(If you want, you can try to follow along with the example by trying this out on your end, to experience the tiny convenience that this idea may bring).
 
Last edited:

pepanee

New member
Hi, I never knew there's a secret menu for options; that's cool.

I tried setting that option to True, yet it still didn't work.
 

Danr

Administrator
Staff member
So here's what the idea is: Sometimes I load a video in VideoReDo and press the "Mark the beginning" button and the "Mark the end" of a video file to trim and keep. Suppose that only those two buttons have been pressed, and then I press the Save Video button, that implies that this is the part of the video that I want to keep. So instead of pressing the "Add Selection" button, then pressing the "Save Video" button, I could just press the "Save Video" button instead. When the program notices that I set one beginning marker and one ending marker, then I pressed the "Save Video" button, then the program will auto assume that this is the selection that I want to save, instead of giving me the "No scenes have been defined" error.
If you go to Tools>Options>General, and check "Enable 'One-Click' selection. Then when you press the Mark the end, it will automatically create a selection for you.

1) Suppose that someone marks the beginning and ending marks to a part of the video that they don't want, then the next thing that comes to their mind would be to press the "Add Unselected" button.
2) Suppose that someone wants to add this selection, then add another selection, then they would know from the beginning that once they set the beginning and ending markers of the first scene, the next thing that comes to mind is to press the button that will keep that first scene, and then they can mark the beginning and ending for the next scene, and add that scene, and so on.
Are you running in scene or cut mode? Again this is set on the Tools>Options>General page via the "Editing mode" setting.

Another option, is if you're in scene mode, but want TVSuite to act like cut mode, mark all the scenes you want to remove, and click the "Invert all cuts" button.
 

pepanee

New member
If you go to Tools>Options>General, and check "Enable 'One-Click' selection. Then when you press the Mark the end, it will automatically create a selection for you.
Oh! Haha. That's exactly very similar to what I was suggesting. I tried that out, and it's awesome. Works perfectly! Thanks so much Danr (I'm in scene mode)
 

jmc

Active member
Hi, I never knew there's a secret menu for options; that's cool.

I tried setting that option to True, yet it still didn't work.
Hmm, In my VRD5 771a when 31 is set to "true" there is no warning screen when saving(No Selections).
 

Dan203

Senior Developer
Staff member
Hmm, In my VRD5 771a when 31 is set to "true" there is no warning screen when saving(No Selections).
That option only works for Cut mode. If you're in Scene mode and you don't define at least one scene then you'd be outputting nothing, so there is always a warning.
 
Top Bottom